top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Idle Characters


Generally, once someone has read one of my stories they ask “where do you get your ideas?”

That is not the question I ask. I have always wondered where all the characters that I have written life into go. You know, those moments when no one is actually reading a story, just what are those people up to?

Well, I think I have finally figured it out. For years I have been plagued with shenanigans on my computers. You know, files that mysteriously disappear or move into another directory; icons that shift around on my desktop; something that interferes with mouse clicks on the save button reverting my latest brainstorm back into my previous brainstorm that needed some refinement. It’s those errant characters getting bored and getting up to mischief.

So I turn to you dear reader. Read those stories again and again. Share them with your friends…better yet, write to magazine editors explaining how much you like my stories and that the rest of their readership would too. Let’s start a reading adventure that will keep those characters right where they belong, in the situations I place them, so they do not have time to mess with my computers .

5 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Do Writers Give?

I always knew that being a writer was a lonely choice. Long hours hunched over a keyboard, face awash in reflected light from the screen that is always hungry for more words. What I didn't  expect tho

bottom of page