top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

B.R.A.T.S. Down the Up Stairs

When you're a kid, nothing has to be what it was designed to be. A youthful imagination can turn just about anything, into just about anything else.


A hockey stick can be a rifle, a sword, a pole vault. A stick can be a gun, a ray gun, even a snake. Well, for my brothers and me, a set of stairs could be, and often were, an entire playground.


When we moved into the PMQ in CFB Clinton, the beds had to be carried up the stairs. There was a sudden turn at the bottom that made it impossible for the movers to get mom and Dad's box spring past the spindles that were on the open-wall side of the stairs. I thought they were going to have to use a rope and lift the thing through the bedroom window. That would be so cool.


I was disappointed when one of them brought out a screwdriver and simply removed the bottom spindle, giving them enough maneuvering space to get the bed upstairs. But, through my disappointment, I saw opportunity. If your world doesn't fit, reconfigure it.


Hence, when it is raining outside, turn your stairs into a playground.


Sliding down the stairs on our butt was our first activity. A rapid thump, thump, thump as bum strikes steps, can be quite rewarding. Acting as though it doesn't hurt makes you tough. Next, opening your mouth and saying ahh as you bump your way down makes a most satisfying, and parent annoying sound, as we were to soon to find out. Repeat until at least one grown up investigates what all the racket is.


Another stair activity is, run down the stairs as fast as you can, grab the bottom spindle and let your momentum swing you wildly around that sharp bottom turn, letting go at the right moment, launching you into the air, then hit a perfect gymnast landing. Or, miss the landing, slide on the scatter rug and crash to the floor. Better yet, talk a brother into doing the activity and you just laugh when they crash.


Stick the Landing

Basement steps were ok for this type of activity too but generally lacked the turn at the bottom. Also, they seemed to be harder and sharper than upstairs steps. Too, there was generally a cinder-block wall at the bottom, not gyprock that is a bit less harsh to crash into.

A fall down basement steps always felt more harsh.



What sort of activities did you get up to when you were bored or just needed a change of pace?





If you enjoyed this post, share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too. If you write me, I will respond. If you follow me on either my blog site or on my Facebook page, you will get notified of each new post.


See all Terry’s B.R.A.T. posts at www.beingabrat.com

Follow me on Facebook at: fb.me/BeingABrat

My personal website: www.terrygroves.com

Write me at beingabrat.com@gmail.com



Stairs Are Fun

215 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page