top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

B.R.A.T.S. Haunted Places


Now, I wouldn't say the Harvey House was actually haunted, but there was a lot of mystery around it. So much so that it had its own legends and stories.


It was an abandoned house, sitting on DND property but away from the base buildings. It was a yellow, two story and had probably been quite a nice house in its day. In mine, it had no windows, doors and most of the walls inside had been smashed up, giving a cross section of lathe and plaster construction and knob and tube wiring. There was lots of spray-painted graffiti inside and out, in short, the perfect place for kids my age, 11-14, to hang out.


I am certain we were not supposed to be in there but, we were brats and, as far as we were concerned, where we were not supposed to be was exactly were we were supposed to be.




The house was on the way to one of my favorite fishing spots, on the base, edging on the St Lawrence River. I fished there a lot, catching bass, trout, and attempting to catch one large, illusive pike that managed to snag more than one of my lures. I saw him a few times but never landed him. That was a great spot but then the base decided that they needed to build some officer quarters nearby. During construction we were still able to access the area but, once the officers moved in, we couldn't.


It seems to me that during one of my visits back to the base, the Harvey house was gone. I wasn't surprised, it was in pretty rough shape. When I check it out on Google maps, there is no sign of it. It's as if the ground opened up and swallowed it...sounds like the stuff good horror stories are made of. I wonder where the ghosts went?


Any other brats out there remember the Harvey House?


What lore and rumours abounded in the places you grew up?



Writing this blog isn't my only writing endeavor. If you have visited my web site, www.terrygroves.com, you will have an understanding regarding my writing aspirations.


I was recently published in the January 2020 Horror Anthology, by Breaking Rules Publishing. In concert with that, they did a podcast interview with me in which I talk about my writing passion and even narrate one of my stories. Take a few minutes and check it out.




If you would like a copy of the anthology, you can acquire it here: https://www.breakingrulespublishing.com/store/p177/Jan_2020_Horror_Anthology.html



If you enjoyed this post, share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too. If you write me, I will respond. If you follow me on either my blog site or on my Facebook page, you will get notified of each new post.


See all Terry’s B.R.A.T. posts at www.beingabrat.com

Follow me on Facebook at: fb.me/BeingABrat

My personal website: www.terrygroves.com

Write me at beingabrat.com@gmail.com


511 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page