top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

B.R.A.T.S. Slush - The Food of Dinosaurs

I don't know where this bit of trivia came from but I recall being told it by my older brother Mark. I am not certain why I recall this so vividly but it has stuck with me, crisp as the day it happened.


It is spring, 1965. I am six years old, riding my tricycle along Paisly Place in the air base PMQs. The ditch along the road is full of water mixed with snow from the melting snowbanks. I am wearing gum boots and a light jacket.

Spring playground

I get off my bike to check out how deep the water in the ditch is. I lay my bike over on its side, like my older brothers do with their two-wheelers. Mark is there and he has a hockey stick with him. As I wade into the water, he stirs in more snow, making the slush, that's what he called it, thicker. He says to me "Slush is what Dinosaurs eat." I recall distinctly that he said it in the present tense, as though a tyrannosaurus might come along for lunch. I'm pretty certain I looked around to see if I was safe.


Then I felt cold on my feet. Water was getting into my boots. Of course it was. I was a brat and it never took long to put a hole in a pair of boots.


Ever since that day, whenever my feet get wet and cold, I think back to slush and Dinosaur food.


Any silly information you recall that you accepted as fact when you were growing up?


If you enjoyed this post, share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too. If you write me, I will respond. If you follow me on either my blog site or on my facebook page, you will get notified of each new post.


See all Terry’s B.R.A.T. posts at www.beingabrat.com Follow him on Facebook at: fb.me/BeingABrat His personal website: www.terrygroves.com Write him at beingabrat.com@gmail.com

This guy ate snow?

187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page