top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Last Scat


This will be the last entry in the Chasing Scat thread. This morning I took Bear for his last walk. The vet has advised he is full of cancer and pain and the best option is to put him down, if you can call that an option.

As we walked I treasured every second of the activity, trying to imprint the experience into my memory so I will be able to walk with him in the days to come. Bear has been with us for just over eleven years, from weaning and right until the end. He has relied on us to keep him safe, feed him, play with him, teach him, comfort him, love him and be his friend. In return, he has brought us a true picture of loyalty, trust and love. My life has been richer because he has been part of it. He has left me with a legacy to try to live up to, to have the same effect on at least one other person. I hope I am up to the challenge.

Now Bear relies on us to give him peace. This is the thought that we have to sustain us through our final activity with him, an act that feels so much like betrayal.

Goodbye my very good friend

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Behind the Dog

Bear’s and my meanderings as he decides the, best places to water, allow us to encounter an awful lot of people. I get the impression that Bear isn’t quite as docile in his thoughts as his little furr

Changing the Roll

Following along behind my little dog Bear leaves me with a unique perspective on the little guy’s toilet habits. It is likely a perspective that most people would have a hard time appreciating. Being

Dancing at the Cemetery Gate

It occurs to me that you may not know anything about me. As interesting a person that I may be, there have not been any chronicles written about my life except perhaps my medical file (it has grown vo

bottom of page