top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Responsibility


I have been reading about the pending class action against the tobacco producers that is expected to put $27 billion into the pockets of smokers in Quebec. I ask, why should all that money be given to people who chose to partake in an activity that they knew was going to hurt them?

I agree that the tobacco companies should have to help cover the costs of supporting their medical needs, but why should these people be able to drive to the hospital in Lamborghini’s while it is my tax dollars that pay for their treatment? There is some argument to the fact that the tobacco companies put out a pretty strong advertising campaign to convince people to take up the habit but in recent years the exact opposite is the case and people are still starting along the nicotine highway.

I guess I am a bit old fashioned in thinking that poor decisions should not be rewarded. I think the money should be directed to the medical authorities to ease the tax burden on everyone who chose not to smoke or who kicked the habit. If the smokers end up with a degraded end of life experience, well isn’t that just too bad. They were advised of the adverse effects of their habit long before their health concerns became chronic.

If we are held responsible for our decisions, we are likely to make more responsible ones. And for those who can’t, there is always stupid insurance.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

As Election Approaches

It is 2019 and Canadians will be going to the polls before year's  end. I don't know  yet how I am voting but I know how I am not. I confess, I voted Liberal in the last election,  the first time in m

Price of Progress

I have been riding the Duncan Commuter bus for more than ten years, almost since its inception. This experience has allowed me a daily view of Portage Inlet, a picturesque finger of tidal water that j

Unbaking the Bread

As I read about and listen to more governments apologize for attrocities of past generations I am left wondering what good is the effort, particularly when those who were subjected to the horrendous t

bottom of page