top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Price of Progress


I have been riding the Duncan Commuter bus for more than ten years, almost since its inception. This experience has allowed me a daily view of Portage Inlet, a picturesque finger of tidal water that juts deep into Victoria, and all that my imagination can embellish that with.

Thoughts of kayaking the misty, calm inlet have given my imagination ample adventures. If only I could get my kayak on the bus...

This morning, I see they are installing sound barriers along the highway at this location as part of the MacKenzie Overpass Project. I may have had my last glimpse of that piece of paradise from the highway. 

I am going to be happy once the construction is finished because it is going to shorten my commute by a few minutes and relieve a lot of driver frustration in this area, but I am going to miss the view of this beautiful part of Victoria. Ah, the price of progress.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

As Election Approaches

It is 2019 and Canadians will be going to the polls before year's  end. I don't know  yet how I am voting but I know how I am not. I confess, I voted Liberal in the last election,  the first time in m

Unbaking the Bread

As I read about and listen to more governments apologize for attrocities of past generations I am left wondering what good is the effort, particularly when those who were subjected to the horrendous t

Guns

Recently I saw a post on a friend’s Facebook page about how people don’t need automatic weapons capable of discharging thirty rounds in seven seconds. The implication was that the guns were the cause

bottom of page