top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Guns


Recently I saw a post on a friend’s Facebook page about how people don’t need automatic weapons capable of discharging thirty rounds in seven seconds. The implication was that the guns were the cause of the recent trend in school shootings.

Although guns were a part of the situation, they did not cause it. Even their availability would likely not have prevented these needless killings.

These murders were committed because they would get people’s attention, win notoriety for the shooter. Sad to say but the general public wants to hear about events such as this. There is a blood lust that would be the envy of any vampire community.

My proof for this statement? What has been our reaction to these events? Plaster it all over the media, after all, murder sells. Make it all the talk, wave the survivor’s grief like a flag then make sure the killer’s rights are protected. Sure, there will be some movement toward gun control, an effort as likely to keep guns out of the wrong hands as prohibition was at keeping anyone with money sober. I may not be a psychologist but I do know that someone set on killing people will find a way.

I believe a ban on publication of the event beyond the fact that the killer is dead (or at least in custody) would go a lot further toward diminishing these events and protecting the rights of the survivors. It would help reduce the victim feelings and perhaps keep this form of expression from forming in the next sicko’s mind.

But alas, money talks, murder sells, and the minions stand clutching fistfuls of dollars, slavering for all the gruesome details.

Perhaps after reading this, you will consider not elevating the misguided scourge of society to hero status by turning off your TV or not clicking the news feed link. Perhaps you’ll just think I am another asshole on a soap box.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

As Election Approaches

It is 2019 and Canadians will be going to the polls before year's  end. I don't know  yet how I am voting but I know how I am not. I confess, I voted Liberal in the last election,  the first time in m

Price of Progress

I have been riding the Duncan Commuter bus for more than ten years, almost since its inception. This experience has allowed me a daily view of Portage Inlet, a picturesque finger of tidal water that j

Unbaking the Bread

As I read about and listen to more governments apologize for attrocities of past generations I am left wondering what good is the effort, particularly when those who were subjected to the horrendous t

bottom of page