top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Traffic Circles


There exists a phenomenon around traffic circles that causes vehicles to accelerate to incredible speeds. I wonder if studies are done to ensure prospective locations for new circles are within these zones. Perhaps it is something about their engineering or shape that causes the phenomenon to develop at that location.

I think the vortex sucks in both vehicles and common sense as there seems to be a lack of the latter at these times. I wonder where it comes out at the other end; it would be nice to get it directed toward either our government or the driver license issue office. In a perfect world some would rub off on both audiences.

I have named this occurrence Dontgetinfrontofme because it needs a long name since it causes drivers to spend as little time as possible in the circle and long names sound more scientific than short ones. The logic of naming is based on the same principal as that which granted these drivers a driver’s license.

I guess being flung to the outside door of one’s car is a wholly enjoyable experience for many drivers. I must be a bit daft as I am adverse to having my organs slammed against my right side. Perhaps I need to go to England or Australia and see if I am more comfortable with everything shoved against the left side. Perhaps I will just try to get people to slow down as they approach and navigate traffic circles. What’s the rush?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

As Election Approaches

It is 2019 and Canadians will be going to the polls before year's  end. I don't know  yet how I am voting but I know how I am not. I confess, I voted Liberal in the last election,  the first time in m

Price of Progress

I have been riding the Duncan Commuter bus for more than ten years, almost since its inception. This experience has allowed me a daily view of Portage Inlet, a picturesque finger of tidal water that j

Unbaking the Bread

As I read about and listen to more governments apologize for attrocities of past generations I am left wondering what good is the effort, particularly when those who were subjected to the horrendous t

bottom of page