top of page
  • Writer's pictureTerry Groves

Invention Please

Updated: Mar 3, 2019


I take care in consideration of others to try to not have bad breath. I think about this often and make liberal use of those handy thin strips to ensure that those who must get close to me are not assaulted by an attack of halitosis. I wish others would be as considerate.

Today I gave up my favorite seat on the bus because someone with an aversion to soap sat in the seat behind me and his aura invaded my space. Shortly after relocating myself to the opposite end of the bus, a bike rider took the spot next to me.

Now I would never deny anyone their right to achieve a good level of fitness but can they not think about how their hygienic state might affect others in close proximity? Maybe there should be a stinky section on the bus like there used to be a smoking section.

Better yet, would someone be so ingenious to invent a nasal filter that I can use to protect myself from others who give little consideration in this regard? Please, some of these smells get in my sinuses and stick there for days.


Does anyone on my bus dust their armpits with cinnamon? Now that would end my rant.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

As Election Approaches

It is 2019 and Canadians will be going to the polls before year's  end. I don't know  yet how I am voting but I know how I am not. I confess, I voted Liberal in the last election,  the first time in m

Price of Progress

I have been riding the Duncan Commuter bus for more than ten years, almost since its inception. This experience has allowed me a daily view of Portage Inlet, a picturesque finger of tidal water that j

Unbaking the Bread

As I read about and listen to more governments apologize for attrocities of past generations I am left wondering what good is the effort, particularly when those who were subjected to the horrendous t

bottom of page